BFM – Universal Empathy

Live online events

Online Study & Practice Retreat – Buddhist Foundations of Mindfulness Series – “Universal Empathy”

  • Feb 20

    Saturday Feb 20, 2021 - Wednesday Feb 24, 2021

    (Start time Sat 09:00 GMT - End time Wed 12:00 GMT)
    Online
    Christina Feldman, Yuka Nakamura
    • €50.00 excl.
    Description

    This is the second in a series of three standalone retreats that examine the Buddhist roots of contemporary mindfulness approaches.  This retreat will focus on the four dimensions of well-being and healthy relating, or ‘Brahma vihāras’, set out by the Buddha: friendliness, compassion, joy and equanimity.

    These four virtues, as well as the meditation practices to cultivate them, are key in supporting ourselves to heal distress, and can be seen as an expression of the mind in a healthy state of wellbeing. Equally, these qualities are often the ones that elude us the most in times of distress.

    During the retreat, we’ll explore the Buddhist meditation practices used to help cultivate these qualities – such as the ‘metta bhavana’or loving kindness meditation. We’ll also look at practical ways in which they can be implicitly taught and developed in contemporary mindfulness-based approaches and programmes.

    Requirements: The retreat, while primarily aimed at people teaching Mindfulness Based Approaches or in training to do so, is also open to people with experience of previous silent meditation retreats who are interested in the dialogue between the early teachings of mindfulness and contemporary approaches.

    Important: This is a stand-alone and dana-based retreat. While we encourage following all three retreats it is possible to attend only this one.

    Event Details

    Each day there will be seven online Zoom sessions:

    9.00 – 9.45 GMT/10.00 -10.45 CET (Sitting)
    10.00 – 10.45 GMT/11.00 - 11.45 CET (Instructions)
    10.50 – 11.30 GMT/11.50 - 12.30 CET (Q&A)

    14.30 – 15.15 GMT/15.30 - 16.15 CET (Guided meditation)
    15.30 – 16.15 GMT/16.30 - 17.15 CET (Small groups)

    18.15 – 18.50 GMT/19.15 - 19.50 CET (Sitting)
    19.00 – 20.00 GMT/20.00 - 21.00 CET (Dharma talk)

    Between these times, there will be opportunities for you to practice away from your screen if you choose to do so.

    We look forward to your participation!

    Cost:

    • This course is offered on a fee basis to cover Bodhi College's overhead costs.
    • The fee does not contribute towards the livelihood of our teachers. You will invited to offer teacher dana at the end of the course.
    • If you are unable to afford the rate please let us know. We will make sure that no one is turned away because of lack of funds

    Teachers: 

    CHRISTINA FELDMAN is a co-founder of Gaia House and a guiding teacher at Insight Meditation Society, Barre, Massachussetts. The author of a number of books, she has been teaching insight meditation retreats internationally since 1976. She is one of the teaching faculty of the CPP programme, dedicated to the study and application of the early teachings of the Buddha and is engaged in teaching the Buddhist psychological foundations of mindfulness to those training to teach mindfulness-based applications in England, Belgium and the Netherlands. Her most recent book Mindfulness: Ancient Wisdom Meets Modern Psychology, written with Willem Kuyken, was published in the summer of 2019. 

     

    YUKA NAKAMURA has practised Buddhist meditation in different traditions since 1993, has a PhD in Developmental Psychology and is a certified MBSR-teacher. Trained as a Buddhist meditation teacher by Fred von Allmen she teaches meditation at Beatenberg (Switzerland), Gaia House (UK), Insight Meditation Society (Barre, MA) and other places. Yuka offers MBSR-courses and MBI-trainings at the CFM Zentrum für Achtsamkeit (CH).